Daily Archives: September 15, 2008

./configure

Recently I encountered the following error when trying to build a package by running ./configure

configure: error: cannot find install-sh or install.sh in . ./.. ./../..

This error was weired and I have not seen this before. When I checked the directory contents some of the links were broken. After googling, I found out that it could be related to autoconf/automake version mismatch.

So I first ran autoconf and then automake. But automake again emitted some errors, but it also said some useful information. It asked me to rebuild aclocal.m4 by running the aclocal command. What else? I ran aclocal and autoconf. It fixed the broken links and then finally I was able to run ./configure. Happy ./configure ‘ing

Leave a comment

Filed under Linux